Skip to content

Warm Legs = Leg Warmers?

December 6, 2012

Let me tell you something:  I may have been born and raised in Connecticut but that does not mean that I love the cold.  I skedaddled out of that state when I was 18 and never looked back.  It is only into my thirties that I have even ventured back there willingly without it due to a death and paying respects for loved ones.

With that being said, I was appalled when we got those orders making us move to Maryland.  Aside from the staggering thought that that was beyond close enough to Connecticut than I ever wanted to get, all I could think of was how cold it is.  About vividly remembering being 17, wearing 6 layers and having it be a moot point once a gust of wind came with an up-sweep and violated all my layers.  Grrr … it’s coming again.

Currently, I walk my child to school, as it is only a half mile from our home.  The exercise is nice and I personally feel a little happier about lessening my carbon footprint when I can.  I do feel guilty on the mornings it is either torrential downpour, she’s sick, or we’re just simply running late and end up driving.

So the other morning I had my usual layers on …. bra, tank top, flannel/hoodie/sweater, coat, cowl, gloves … and we started walking.  My legs!  Good God man, they were cold.  Jeans felt stiff and frozen.

Now what?  Something must be done.  I hate thermals.  Aside from the fact that they are hideous, they are crotch riding uncomfortable.  And then my epiphany happened:  leg warmers.  Under the jeans.

I’m not talking about those from the Flashdance era.  I’m talking knit thigh highs.   And my oh my, there are some sexy ones out there.  What are your thoughts?  Think they might just work?  I’m not encouraging the look of a 13 year old that’s trying too hard.  Subtle, under the pants and something that I don’t think the husbands would mind at all.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kathy permalink
    December 6, 2012 4:27 pm

    They look great, but don’t discount thermals altogether. The microfiber ones are very light but keep you warm.

Leave a Reply

