Skip to content

It’s Been a Long Time, Shouldn’t Have Left You

November 27, 2012

I apologize.  In keeping you updated, I did not want to do it so often that I kept your email full with one liners and a link.  And at the same time, I did not want to go months on end without saying anything.  Ideally, I would like to post about once a month, maybe even twice a month.  I failed miserably.

The forced PCS move to Maryland bestowed upon us by the Army came about two years earlier than anyone anticipated.  Even though it has been a little over three months, this is the first time I can say that I actually have had the time to write.  And you know me, it’s all about quality, not quantity.  I didn’t want to put something up just for the sake of it.

For those of you who had their interest peaked in regards to my last post talking about the homemade laundry detergent, you have not been forgotten.  It didn’t sit well with me to make my own laundry detergent and not the castille soap that went with it.  It also didn’t sit well with me that in having to make the sopa, you also have to make sure the proper pH was maintained with the lye, or else a horrible skin disaster would occur that I would just never forgive myself for.  And honestly, I didn’t trust my daughter completely, as I love her very much, but at the same time, she absorbs almost all of my concentration continuously.

That having been said, I would like to say that I did a little more research and found kits that you can buy that allow you to do the soap making, and doing the lye process for you, leaving you to your creative process without the fear of a kitchen explosion or burn.  The first website I found was Glory Bee Foods, and I fell in love with it.  In addition to the soap making kit, they had others, such as spa salts, candle making and even lip balm!  For those of you who don’t know, I am a lip balm fanatic, and am on a constant quest for the perfect one.  I place tubes and tins and jars strategically around the house.  At least one in every room, so I never have to venture far in my quest.  Instant gratification, who, me? =) I had to wait patiently for it all, as they were out of stock for that particular soap making kit for months.  And I didn’t want to rush it and just buy it all individually, because I value instructions and didn’t want to mess it up.  But ….

I happened to be at Hobby Lobby the other day and found a kit there.  I am so anxious to try it!  Not just for the laundry detergent but in our bathing routine as well.  As soon as I get the chance to experiment, I will post pics and let you know how it all goes.  And it won’t be so long of an interlude this time, I promise!

xoxoxo

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

